My 2011 – 12 Step Happiness Program

Photo courtesy of Natasha Mileshina

With the New Year coming I am sure you are probably thinking about what the year ahead will bring and about some possible resolutions. Every year I come up with various lists of resolutions and plans that I intend to carry out and every year without fail – come February I have forgotten my resolutions or have just failed to stick to them.  A whole year seems like a long time to not drink coffee or to get up early or god forbid give up television.

The reason I love resolutions is because I crave daily practises that will keep me on track and make my life better – since I seem to stick to most of my resolutions for January – I figure I have enough discipline to keep it up for a month. So this is my plan for 2011 – to pick one resolution each month and give it total devotion knowing that if I truly hate it – in 30 days time it will all be over.  I am hoping that the benefits of each resolution will be so astounding that I will bring more of the practise into my life for the rest of year.   At the very least I will have an impressive list of resolutions that I have tried and hopefully achieved by end of the year!

I have brainstormed a whole juicy list – and plan to unfold them here at FertileLife monthly so you can have a little surprise and a giggle.  The list seems to fall into 2 categories – things I want to stop doing and things I want to do on a daily basis.  Although most are simple  – they are by no means easy. Some of them I should be able to work into my life pretty smoothly and others will push me to my limits.

Step 1 will be revealed on January 1st 2011 so be sure to stop by the blog while you are recovering from your hangover. To make this journey more exciting and fun I would love recruits for my 12 Step Happiness Program, you can use my resolutions or come up with your own each month and check in with your progress – nothing like an audience to keep you honest.

If you would like to join me on my 12 step adventure leave a comment or if that has you quaking in your boots send me an email at little_tree3@hotmail.com. Or just tell me what your resolutions for the year are, I would love to hear them.

Be sure to subscribe to FertileLife so you get the monthly resolutions, check-in and reflection posts. Just click the Sign Me Up! button on the right hand side.

Here’s wishing you all a wonderful New Year of hope, happiness and love!

This entry was posted in 12 Step Happiness Program. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My 2011 – 12 Step Happiness Program

  1. Pingback: 2011 Happiness Program – Step 1 – Check In | fertilelife

  2. Megan Hornshaw says:

    My January month resolution included waking up earlier every day and meditating for exactly half an hour each morning before starting the day.. this includes weekends and I have been waking up at 5.45am in Sundays.. what a start to the day.. I am proud to report I have successfully achieved this regular meditation for the entire month and now feel it has become a part of my daily routine. I feel grounded and more balanced throughout the day and have definitely noticed an improvement in my sleep (not counting the 42 degree days like today) and have not been experiencing those panicky moments of anxiety that can hit at anytime during the day.. For years and years I have been talking about meditation and haven’t ever actually done it consistently ever.. I feel this month is a wonderful step forward for me and that it is now a natural part of my life.

    • tdemello says:

      Hi Megs – meditation is the holy grail for me as well. I have started doing it pretty regularly but I would love it to become one of my foundation practises for everyday. 5.45am on a Sunday – you are a star! Steve Pavlina talks about 30 days to success – basically if can do anything for 30 days – it will pretty much become an easy part of your life! Glad to hear you have cracked the meditation code. Thanks for the comment. Cheers Tanya

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Inconceivale by Julia Indichova | fertilelife

  4. Pingback: 2011 Happiness Program – Step 2 – Check Out | fertilelife

Leave a Reply

