Creating A Monthly Ritual

Photo courtesy of Monika Andrae

My periods came on 3 days ago and I have been in agony, I have been bleeding heavily and cramping like I never have before.  My body seems to be in a kind of release and I feel amazing.  None of the sadness of not being pregnant is haunting me, I felt it when the bleeding started I greeted it with acceptance and decided that this is happening and it’s here and all I can do is flow with it.

As soon as my 2 week wait started I got to thinking about being pregnant.  A week in and my art therapist who is an amazing spiritual healer told me she had a message from her guides that I was going to be pregnant very soon and had even done a tarot reading for me. The 2nd card she drew was – children.  I felt more hopeful than I had in a long time and I started making those wistful plans.  Would I do a home pregnancy test or go to the doctor for a blood test, how would I break the news to Greg and I imagined the flood of relief and joy that would flow through my body.  Normally I would stop myself knowing the fall is that much harder as your hopes get higher.  But I decided to fully live the fantasy – both of them.  I also made a plan for what I would do if I got my periods, how I was going to react, who I would tell and what I was going to do for myself to make this a positive time in my life.

I recently read a wonderful post at Pamela Madsen’s blog on the rituals that women used to mark and celebrate their monthly cycles.  She explains “In some societies – bleeding women gathered in a special place and did healing and ritual work.” and she invites us to do the same.  To use our periods as a time to mourn, let go and release things in our lives which are not serving us or working for us any more.

I thought about the unconscious rituals I have been enacting every month with the arrival of my period and I pretty much follow the Kubler-Ross text-book stages of grief.  Firstly I deny the situation and believe that I could still be pregnant – so convinced was I during some particularly crazy months that I have done pregnancy tests in the mist of heavy bleeding.  Then I swiftly move onto anger – this is usually directed at anyone in my path, then to God and eventually brutally turned on myself. I would mainly berate myself for having so foolishly believed that I was pregnant.   Then I start the bargaining both with God and myself, ‘next month I will be more relaxed, I will let go and just take it easy’.  I promise all this knowing full well that this isn’t the last time I will be visiting crazy town.  This ebbs into depression and that black hole of questions – What if I never get pregnant? Why aren’t I getting pregnant? When will I get pregnant? And then the final swan song of  ‘I’m never going to get pregnant’.  The last stage of Kubler-Ross’ model is acceptance – which lets face it, I never reach because I go back into the cycle of hope as I get ready to ovulate.

So this month I changed up the ritual, I started with the acceptance – as soon as I saw the first drop of blood I said a prayer for myself and the deep sadness I felt and then I just felt it.  No stories, no questions, no saga. Then I started the process of cleaning house with my body, I thought about things I needed to let go off to be a happier and more grounded person and I washed them away, in the shower, in my meditations and in my thinking.  This month I am washing away the need to be liked, approved, validated and wanted.  There is a lot of debris around this so its an ongoing project but I realised as the blood poured out me how much of my life is based around this – courting being wanted as opposed to focusing on I wanted.

I have the bare bones of a ritual, really at this point just the intention of a ritual but its one that I am going to keep building on.  As women our periods are a special time, as pre-fertile women our periods are a painful time but as the phoenix rises through the ashes perhaps this pain can be used to forge our strength.

This entry was posted in Turning the BFN into BFP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

