2011 Happiness Program – Step 2 – The Early Bird Gets the Worm

Photo courtesy of Trey Ratcliff

For as long as I can remember I have longed to be an early riser, here is my window into a perfect early morning. Rise before 6am, make a fresh juice, do an hour of Yoga, get ready for work in an orderly and calm fashion and start the day as I intend for it to go on.  Here is what actually happens most mornings, rise at 7.00 (if I wake with the alarm) or at 7.30 if not – usually looking at the clock and greeting the morning with some sort of expletive.  Rush out of bed and start simultaneously – getting ready for work, packing my lunch, eating breakfast, doing my make up and trying to wake up.  I then rush out the door, 5 minutes late and drive away realising that I haven’t put on deodorant and resigning myself to a smelly day of avoiding close conversations.

I know that lots of people rise at 6am or earlier, to some 6am may even represent a little sleep in.  But for me rising at 6am is akin to waking up in the middle of the night and the ungodly hour totally befuddles my brain, so I just bolt up to the alarm – feeling like it were 3am, switch it off quickly and snuggle back to bed.   However for the whole month of February I am vowing to get up at 6am, come hail or shine – even on the weekends. I just thank the heavens that February is a short month.

To help me on my quest I have been reading the very helpful and insightful articles of very early risers like Steve Pavlina and Leo Babauta – Steve rises between 5am-5.30am every day and Leo at the truly ungodly hour of 4.30am (which to me seems kind of like waking up before you even go to bed).

Are you an early riser? Got any tips for me? Or would you too like to take in the delights of the 6am rise? I would love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

