2011 Happiness Program – Step 3 – Dial M for Meditation

 

Photo courtesy of Alice Popkorn

I have spent years, thinking, reading, researching and talking about meditation.  The actual doing of the activity however has usually been put on the back burner.   Since starting the Mindfulness Program I have incorporated mediation into my life on a more regular basis, however this is a practise I long to do daily.  It is when we take time out every day to recharge ourselves that its true benefits filter into our lives.

So for the whole month of March I will be meditating for 30 minutes every day. I plan on this being a combination of body scans, guided meditations and also silent meditations.  The goal is not so much about quality for having lofty goals around meditation can often undo its great benefits but rather to focus on quantity on just getting myself there everyday and approaching the practise however I am.   I am so excited about this month’s resolution my friend Megan has been doing this for more than a month now and I can see a noticeable difference in her attitude and life.

Although many books and guides recommend meditating first thing in the morning, I find at this time I am far to0 prone to falling asleep, this is also true of last thing at night.  So I am planning to incorporate it about half hour after dinner, this gives me time to clean up and let my food go down but is not too close to bed time.   As this program is one of experimentation I am going to try to vary my practise and posture to find out what works best.

Could you use a little time out and stillness – why not join me for the month? If you need a little push check out these sites for the benefits of meditation and some tips and techniques.

100 benefits of meditation

A detailed article on the 7 benefits of meditation

You can download a free handbook on meditation here

This site features a huge range of meditation techniques from different faiths and practises

The 12 Step Happiness Program is my plot to tackle 1 resolution for 1 month for the rest of this year.
This entry was posted in 12 Step Happiness Program. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

